New to Scouting?

For over 100 years, Scouting programs have instilled in youth the values found in the Scout Oath and Scout Law. Today, these values are just as relevant in helping youth grow to their full potential as they were in 1910. Scouting helps youth develop academic skills, self-confidence, ethics, leadership skills, and citizenship skills that influence their adult lives.

The Boy Scouts of America provides youth with programs and activities that allow them to

  • Try new things.
  • Provide service to others.
  • Build self-confidence.
  • Reinforce ethical standards.

While various activities and youth groups teach basic skills and promote teamwork, Scouting goes beyond that and encourages youth to achieve a deeper appreciation for service to others in their community.

Scouting provides youth with a sense that they are important as individuals. It is communicated to them that those in the Scouting family care about what happens to them, regardless of whether a game is won or lost.

Finally, and perhaps most importantly, Scouting promotes activities that lead to personal responsibility and high self-esteem. As a result, when hard decisions have to be made, peer pressure can be resisted and the right choices can be made. 


Visit! Simply select the program you are looking for at the top of the page and then enter your zip code to locate Scouting units in your area.  Cub Scouts(K-5th grade) has opened it's doors to girls to join in 2018 and in February 2019 girls will be able to join Scouts BSA(Grades 6 and up)!

While each Scouting unit puts their own flavor on the Scouting program, all of them follow the same program curriculum.  Below are orientation guides for Cub Scouts(Kindergarten to 5th grade)  and Boy Scouts(5th Grade till age 18) that cover all the ins and outs of the program.   

Cub Scout Parent Orientation Guide

Boy Scout Parent Orientation Guide

Language of Scouting

Cub Scouts and Scouts BSA both wear uniforms.  You can purchase uniform and other supplies at our from our Scouts Shops in Galloway and Toms River. You can find more information about them at the below links.

Scout Shops

Uniform and Insignia Guide

Jersey Shore Council has several professional staff members who serve different areas of Ocean and Atlantic Counties. These areas are called districts. Our district areas are as follows:

  • Northern Lights District, served by Michelle Petrosino which encompasses all communities North of Waretown in Ocean County which include: Bricktown, Berkely Township, Jackson, Lakewood, Point Pleasant, Beachwood, Pinebeach, Seaside Heights, Lavellete, Lacey Township, Bayville, Lakehurst, Manchester, and Toms River.
  • Southern Shore District, served by Sharon Mckenna which encompasses Ocean City and all Atlantic County with the exception of Buena, and Southern Ocean County(all towns South of Waretown(including Waretown)