Jersey Devil District

The Jersey Devil District serves the following towns: Barnegat, Beachwood, Berkeley, Bass River, Lacey, Lakehurst, Little Egg Harbor, Manahawkin, Manchester, New Egypt, New Gretna, Ocean Gate, Pine Beach, Seaside Heights, South Toms River, Tuckerton, Waretown, West Creek, and Whiting.

District Roundtable

The roundtable meets the first Monday of the month in the Central Regional Middle School Cafeteria (509 Forest Hills Parkway, Bayville NJ 08721), unless a holiday (or global pandemic) conflicts. There  is a common session with information for all Scouts and Scouters followed by separate  breakout sessions for Cub Scout/Webelos and Boy Scout items. The district roundtable  is a meeting to provide the following for the full family of Scouting units:
  •          Skills, techniques, information, program ideas—the know-how that makes for successful unit operation.
  •          To provide unit leadership with the will to do—the morale, enthusiasm, inspiration, and vision that periodically renew the desire to serve youth.
Please make every effort to have at least one representative from your unit attend this meeting!  If you have any suggestions for the roundtable please contact John Derby.

CORONA VIRUS UPDATE: The District Roundtable will be held virtually by our Roundtable Commissioner and the many volunteers who report progress and initiatives for training opportunities, advancement  protocol and upcoming events. Please check back here for more Jersey Devil District specific information as it becomes available and stay safe and healthy during this time. Practice social distancing and check the Jersey Shore Council website and Facebook page regularly for updated information on events and virtual meetings and activities to engage your Scouts!

District Committee

The district committee meets the third Monday of the month (except during global pandemics).  The district committee is a group of volunteers that serves the local units within the district. The committee is broken into several sub committees which include advancement, training, activities, unit service, membership, camping, and fundraising. The district is always looking for help in any of these areas and has roles that can fit anyone's schedule and skill set.  Contact Sharon McKenna if you are interested in helping out youth on the district level!


District Commissioner Staff

The commissioner staff meets once a month (except during global pandemics) and focus on the following four primary areas:

  • Supporting unit growth in the Journey to Excellence criteria

  • Linking district committee resources to the unit

  • Visiting units and logging the visits into the Unit Visit Tracking System (UVTS)

  • Supporting on-time charter renewal

A commissioner plays several roles, including friend, representative, unit "doctor," teacher, and counselor.

The commissioner is a friend of the unit. Of all their roles, this one is the most important. It springs from the attitude, "I care, I am here to help, what can I do for you?"

The commissioner is a representative. The commissioner helps represent the ideals, the principles, and the policies of the Scouting movement.

The commissioner is a unit "doctor." In their role as "doctor," they try to see that their units make good "health practices" a way of life. When problems arise  they act quickly.

The commissioner is a teacher. As a commissioner, they will have a wonderful opportunity to participate in the growth of unit leaders by sharing knowledge with them.

The commissioner is a counselor. As a Scouting counselor, they will help units solve their own problems. Everyone needs counseling from time to time, even experienced leaders.

If you are interested in volunteering as a commissioner, please contact Duane Hunt.


File Name Description
2018_JSC_Council_Race_Rules.pdf Rules to follow for your Pinewood Derby! Download
Merit Badge Counselor List As of 03/18/2020. See your local district rep for the password. Download
Tilton Fitness Scout Program Download
TIlton Lifesaving MB Download
Duane Hunt

Duane Hunt

District Commissoner

Robert Krehely

Robert Krehely

District Chairman

(732) 278-4851

Sharon McKenna

Sharon McKenna

District Executive

(732) 349-1037 x28